Too Close, the real version

There is a song (Too Close by Alex Clare) I keep hearing all over the place that’s pretty rockin’ and I never paid much attention to the lyrics… until one day, that is, and I was fairly surprised at what I was hearing.  I didn’t think such a driving beat, synth-heavy kind of song would be about a guy trying to break-up with his girlfriend.

But for those of you who never paid attention to the lyrics or weren’t sure what they were saying, I present the following:

The lyrics to Too Close (and Ken’s interpretation of what he’s REALLY saying)

 

You know I’m not one to break promises (This is my attempt to start by building some character credibility)

I don’t want to hurt you but I need to breathe (I’m tired of you being all up my grill)

At the end of it all, you’re still my best friend (I’m trying to set it up where I can bang you later)

But there’s something inside that I need to release (I’m horny but not for you)

Which way is right, which way is wrong (filler, this doesn’t really mean anything other than to seem thoughtful and conflicted)

How do I say that I need to move on (I want leave you as soon as possible.  How can I do that?)

You know we’re headed separate ways (It’s over, babe)

 

And it feels like I am just too close to love you (I’m trying to confuse you into not being mad at me)

There’s nothing I can really say (Can I leave now?)

I can’t lie no more, I can’t hide no more (trying to look noble and true in your eyes even though I’m being an ass)

Got to be true to myself  (again, I’m trying to confuse you into not being mad at me)

And it feels like I am just too close to love you (still trying to confuse you into not being mad at me)

So I’ll be on my way  (Later)

 

You gave me more that I can return (Now I’m trying to make you feel good about the situation)

Yet there’s so much that you deserve (Building you up so I don’t look like the bad guy)

Nothing to say, nothing to do,  (Bitch, I’m outta here)

I’ve nothing to give (I’m so over you I’m spent / Sayonara)

I must leave without you  (Au revoir)

You know we’re headed separate ways (Two words: Buh and bye.  Buh bye.)

One thought on “Too Close, the real version

  1. I remember the same confusion over the 1990’s classic “The Sign” from Ace of Base. Wait, it’s about a breakup? But they sound so happy . . . and what is THE SIGN?!?! “Too Close” confounded on a different level, but your analysis certainly adds up. Do more songs!

    p.s. I don’t know if these comments support html. If not, you will have to imagine the italics above.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

